CAROL TOWNE BEACON 2014 (Christmas Greetings from Bill Baxter, DTM).

 

??????????????

Hello Again, and Happy Holidays!

Since my last annual Christmas Letter, the year has had ups and downs. Mountain View Presbyterian Church closed its doors in May of 2014. My brother Jeff, who was the Pastor of MVP, was able to land another position at the Union Presbyterian Church in Downtown Powell WY. My best friend in Colorado, Dan Brown, and I got to go up to Powell Wyoming to celebrate my 60th Birthday which was on October 11th. We spent a day in Cody, Wyoming; and another day at Yellowstone National Park. On Sunday, October 12, we got to attend the Adult Sunday School Class at Union Pres. followed by the Sunday Morning Worship Service and a church potluck. I got to sing in the choir during the service. My brother Jeff, Dan and I then spent an afternoon in Billings, Montana.

A week after coming back from the visit Powell, Wyoming, Dan and I became Members of Gateway Presbyterian Church in West Colorado Springs. My friend and I really enjoy that church, its Pastor, and the people who attend there. We had also tried out Trinity Presbyterian Church a few Sundays, but we decided to make Gateway our new church home.

September 11, 2014; was my second year anniversary with Service Source Inc. I really look forward to going to work every morning when I get up. I like serving our troops out at Fort Carson. I do this job more for the troops than I do for the money. I sang the National Anthem for the Service Source Awards Banquet in July which was quite an honor.

Since I work Sunday Mornings 50% of the time, I am not yet involved in music at my new church. Dan and I attend an evening worship service at the Cheyenne Place Retirement Community whenever I have to work out at Fort Carson on Sunday Mornings. I do Folk Song Concerts at Cheyenne Place a few times a year now (Valentine’s Day, Easter/Spring, Fourth of July, Oktoberfest/Halloween, and Christmas). I will be doing my Christmas Concert this year on Dec. 30th. I got to sing the National Anthem at two Toastmasters Speech Contests, so I have been able to stay active in singing. November 4th, 2014; marked my 24th Anniversary with Toastmasters International. I have been with the Colorado Springs Toastmaster Club now for 4 years. Also in 2014, I earned my 14th Competent Communicator Award.

Well, that is about it for this year. I hope everyone has a Great Christmas and a Happy New Year in2015….

Bill Baxter.

Leave a Reply

